His Excellency Governor of Odisha Dr. S. C. Jamir

Honorable Governor, Odisha Dr.S.C.Jamir

Hon'ble Governor of Odisha, Dr. Senayangba Chubatoshi Jamir was sworn in on 21st March, 2013 in the Abhishek Hall of Raj Bhavan. The oath of office was administered by the Hon'ble Chief Justice of Odisha High Court, Justice Chokalingam Nagappan at a solemn function in Raj Bhavan.

Dr. S. C. Jamir, son of Senayangba Head Dobashi of Mokokchung district, was born on October 17, 1931 at Ungma village. His mother Takatula, daughter of Likokyangba is now 99 years old and is still active in her daily avocations. Dr. S. C. Jamir had his early education in the village and at Mokokchung. After finishing his matriculation examination, he joined Scottish Church College, Calcutta to study Intermediate Arts and from thence to Allahabad University where he completed B.A. and LL.B. in 1958. Dr. S. C. Jamir was the President of the Students’ Christian Movement at the University from 1954 to 1957 and was actively involved in student and Christian activities.

He began his political career soon after his studies. He was elected as the Joint Secretary of the Naga Peoples’ Convention on 22nd May, 1958. He was one of the signatories to the historic Agreement which is popularly known as the 16th Point Agreement with the Government of India in 1960 that resulted in the creation of the State of Nagaland as the sixteenth State of the Indian Union. He was also a member of the Interim Body of Nagaland. After the formation of the Interim Body, notification was issued to elect a person to represent the people of Nagaland in the Indian Parliament. Three candidates namely Shri A. Kevichusa, Kheloshe Seama and S. C. Jamir filed their nominations. Members of the Interim Body elected S. C. Jamir in 1961 to be the Naga representative in the Lok Sabha. To him goes the distinction of being the first Member of Parliament from the State of Nagaland.

He was appointed as Parliamentary Secretary to the First Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru in 1962. Later he served as Union Deputy Minister of Railways, Labour and Employment, Community Development, Cooperation, Food and Agriculture during 1966 and 1970 under Mrs. Indira Gandhi. He was a member of the Indian Delegation to UNO in 1962 as Political Advisor. He was also a member of the Indian delegation to International Labour Organization (ILO) at Geneva in 1968. He was the Deputy leader of the Indian delegation to International Social Welfare Conference at Manila in 1969.